Skip to content

Annual Awards Nominations

Please take a moment and consider nominating someone outstanding in your organization for one of our two awards presented at our Annual Meeting December 8th:

A.O. Evans Award


Nominations Accepted Until November 2, 2020

The AO Evans Award recognizes one individual each year for outstanding contributions to the West Monroe and West Ouachita community.  The person cannot be an elected official who currently holds office, nor can they be on the West Monroe-West Ouachita Chamber Board of Directors.  They must also have made several contributions to the betterment of the community.

The award was first presented in 1976 to Mr. AT Mitchell.  When considering a name for the new award, the Chamber Board decided to name it in honor of the founder of the West Monroe-West Ouachita Chamber of Commerce, Mr. A.O. Evans.  Mr. Evans was the manager of the Northern Division for Louisiana Power and Lights, now Entergy.  In 1956, Mr. Evans successfully worked to establish the West Monroe Chamber of Commerce.  Prior to that time, the Monroe-West Monroe Chamber served all of Ouachita Parish.  Several businesses in West Monroe split with the Chamber and formed the West Monroe Merchants Association.  Mr. Evans believed that by establishing a West Monroe Chamber of Commerce, the organization could accomplish far more.  The West Monroe Chamber was chartered on March 31, 1956 with Mr. Evans as the first President.

Mr. Evans was dedicated and committed to West Monroe and worked to make the city an outstanding place to live, work, and raise a family.  Mr. Evans embodied the characteristics of the people the award honors.

Past recipients include: A.T. Mitchell, Fred Bennett, Sr. , F.C. McConnell, Jesse Heard, Hugh Balfour, Louis Gruber, Jeff Caldwell, Jr., John Grantham, Alton Calhoun, Margaret Truly, George Welch, Bernard Biedenharn, Bert Hatten, Ike Hamilton, Bill Nelson, Jr., Jack Grable, Charles Morgan, Edward Stinson, Jr., Helen LeFevre, Alice Bennett, Eugene Smith, Clifton Tennison, Evelyn Blackmon, Sidney Wilhite, Cary Davis, Peggy Price Ford, Violet Liner, Arlan Rawls, Raymond Ford, Linda Lavender Ford, Ron Downing, Susan Hoffmann, Dr. August Danti, Judge “Bill” Norris, Jerry Lazenby, Laymon Godwin, Don Shows, Gretchen Kovac, Wade Bishop, Tex Kilpatrick, Blake Wheelis, Johnny Huntsman, Dr. Terry King, Doug Caldwell, Jean Halsell, The Honorable Dave Norris and Rick Guillot.

The Chamber invites you to nominate a member for the 2020 A.O. Evans award - Click Here to Download Nomination Form

Johnny E. Huntsman Entrepreneurial Success Award

Johnny E. Huntsman Entrepreneurial Success Award

The West Monroe-West Ouachita Chamber of Commerce is currently taking nominations for the Johnny E. Huntsman Entrepreneurial Success Award.   This award honors a current WMWO Chamber business member or individual memberthat exemplifies the true entrepreneurial spirit, using these three main areas:

  1. Employees — this company or individual will have employees that understand that it takes hard work, dedication and loyalty for their company to succeed.
  2. Management Style — this company will understand their managers must prepare their employees for success and reward them when they succeed.
  3. An entrepreneurial spirit — an internal company spirit that fosters growth, loyalty and a deep desire to succeed.

Previous winners include: Johnny Huntsman, Linda Lavender Ford, Linda Silmon, TP Outdoors, Tom Sanders Building Mart, J. E. Dupuy Flooring, Tim Brandon and Everett Stagg.  Applications should include the attached nomination form and a one-page essay addressing the above three (3) points.  The nomination form and essay are due via email to WMWO Chamber of Commerce Communications Director, Kristopher Kelley at by Monday, November 2, 2020.  

The JEH Entrepreneurial Success Award will be presented at the WMWO Chamber of Commerce’s Annual Banquet in December at the West Monroe Convention Center.

DEADLINE FOR NOMINATIONS is Monday, November 2, 2020.

The Chamber invites you to nominate a member for the 2020 Johnny E. Huntsman Entrepreneurial Success Award - Click Here to Download Nomination Form


Scroll To Top